Provisional Sakai Policies

How long do course sites stay available?
Two weeks after grades are due, course sites are unpublished. At this point, the faculty can still access the course sites but the students cannot. Project sites are not changed.
When are courses taken offline?
Sakai course sites are available via the website for five years after completion of the semester. For three additional years, the course sites are archived offline and are available upon request.
When and how do future course sites become available?
Course sites are set up two weeks after pre-registration is completed. Students and faculty cannot access the future course sites at this point. If access is required prior to the population date, their college's Sakai admin can help provide that access.
When are future course sites populated with faculty and students?
Course sites are populated two weeks before classes begin. Add/Drop scripts run three times per day during the semester. When a student drops a course, their account is made inactive in the Sakai course site. The student is not actually deleted or removed from the site to ensure that any work that has already been submitted is retained.
When will my LMS account be created?
The creation of an LMS account is based on the registrar's information as well as your individual college's IT department's decision.
When will LMS account be deactivated?
LMS users login with their college network credentials. Your LMS account will be available as long as you can log into your college's network resources. If your college network credentials are deactivated, your LMS account will no longer be accessible.
What should I do if I need more storage space for my site than the standard 2GB quota?
Any user needing more than the standard LMS site quota may make a special request to their IT service desk for a quota increase. Each IT department will make a judgment on whether to grant the quota increase request and how much it should be increased.
What is Claremont's LMS user policy?
As with any personal account, users must not share their username and password with anyone. All users are responsible for all material originating from their account and for complying with relevant University policies including the Claremont Colleges copyright policy and each school' accessibility policy.

Course Site Retention Policy

What is the Course Site Retention Policy?
Sakai Course sites are available online for five (5) years after completion of the course and then are archived for three (3) additional years. At the end of eight (8) years, the course sites will be permanently deleted. During the archived period, the course sites are stored offline but are available upon request. After the permanent removal of the site, there is no way to restore the sites.
When does the Course Site Retention Policy start?
Starting with 2015 Winter Break, the permanent removal of course sites more than eight (8) years old will be executed. This means any course sites from Fall 2007 and earlier will be removed. Then, starting from Summer 2016, the full Site Retention Policy will be put into effect. The course site retention plan will be executed every Summer. Please refer to the Course Access Calendar for specific dates.
What gets deleted from Sakai Course Sites?
Deleting a course from Sakai permanently removes it. When a course is deleted, it is automatically removed from a user's course list. All materials stored in the course are deleted. This includes all files, grades, assignments, quizzes, links and anything else associated with the course.
How do I retain a copy of the content before the course is deleted?
There are at least two good methods for retaining content.
  1. Instructors can copy materials from older courses into newer courses within Sakai by reusing or importing material from the older sites to newer sites.
  2. Instructors can backup their materials outside of Sakai via downloading materials of the Resources, exporting Tests&Quizzes question banks, and export Gradebooks as necessary.
Other tools may also offer alternate methods such as printing. Instructors are encouraged to create and keep a local archive of their own courses as well as the originals of all files used by the course. It is best to create this archive at the end of the term in which the course was taught instead of waiting until shortly before scheduled deletion. Storing these files on both a local computer and a cloud storage (such as Box.com) will help prevent the files being lost.
Which sites will be deleted?
The course site retention policy applies only to course sites and their respective materials stored in the Sakai. Project sites are not subject to this policy. All materials stored in an individual's home directory (My Workspace) are also not affected by this policy.

Sakai Archive Retrieval Service

What is the Claremont Archive Retrieval Service?
The Claremont Archive Retrieval Service allows the faculty to access data from an archived/offline site that he or she was the instructor for.
How can I request the archive retrieval service?
Faculty members can submit requests to their respective IT department using the Sakai Archive Request Template.
How will I be able to see my requested archived site?
Each school's IT department can access the archived sites and assist the faculty in retrieving the specific information that's needed.
Is it possible to move the archived site into a live site?
No. The archived site cannot be moved from an archive server to a live server. Faculty can only view the old sites or download files into their local computer. Faculty will also not be able to modify the archived site.

 

If you have any questions or would like more information regarding the Claremont Sakai policies, please contact your individual college's IT department.